12

This one felt good.

In my quest to get to a Boston qualifying time incrementally this 12k was great!

My Vibrams feel more like gortex socks now that I’ve taken out the insoles, and most of the trail I run is crushed gravel. Starting out I stepped on a rather large protruding rock with the ball of my right foot. There was a bit of pain, but nothing to feel concerned about. 

I paced below 4:50 for most of the run, dipping above at 7k. The last kilometer I still had gas in the tank and gave it all I could finishing in 56:26 at 4:40/km. 

A good 10 seconds faster than I need to pace at for qualifying. 

While I didn’t feel the pain during the run, that rock came back to haunt me with a sore foot the day after. 

I’m feeling hopeful and confident, I can complete the next run of 13k below 4:50/km. 

Leave a comment